Monday, March 13, 2017

How to Release 9 Blessings in Your Life {Blessing #1}

Have you ever been casually reading the bible and come across the Beatitudes in Matthew chapter 5?  What in the world is a beatitude? - I don't think I've ever used that word my whole life!  

Beatitude:  Supreme Blessedness; Sainthood; Saintliness

Ok...I don't use any of those words daily either, but after reading in Matthew chapter 5: 1-11 the word that I can most easily connect with is Supreme Blessedness. The scripture starts off by saying that Jesus sat down and began to teach the disciples the following beatitudes or rather the supreme blessedness. (Can we just shorten this word of supreme blessedness to blessings?) So, from now on I will refer to each beatitude as a "blessing".


"Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."  Matthew 5:3

Blessing #1: the inheritance of the kingdom of heaven.  

To Release This Blessing:  Poor in spirit means to acknowledge your need for spiritual transformation; it begins with salvation.  Decide to follow Jesus with your whole heart.  It's not easy for us to surrender our own way of thinking, and our own way of living to follow the path that Jesus has for us.  

When you surrender your life to Jesus, you become a part of the kingdom of Heaven subsequently opening the door for the blessings of Heaven to pour out onto your life.

This post is originally from 2011 and I've re-vamped it from it's original post.  To view the 2011 version click here.  

1 comment:

  1. I like that definition - supreme blessedness - and shortening it to the word blessings. It is hard sometimes to surrender our lives, but so much better for us. God loves us and will care for us. Our job is to trust and obey. There is much freedom in that surrender to Him. Blessings to you!